What do you have your eyes on?

sunrise over the AtlanticSome time ago, I pondered a serious question…it must have been in college, that time in life when serious questions are pondered. Questions like, “if you could be any animal, what would you be?”

To which the answer must be a rhinoceros. Rhinos are tough, just look at that thick skin. NOTHING bothers them, right? And if it does, they’ll simply charge it with those horns. And yet, rhinos are reliant on others, like the little bird that perches on them and rids them of ticks and parasites. Definitely, if I could be any animal, it would be a rhino.

But the other question so studiously answered back in the day that still comes to mind…of the five senses, which would you most hate to lose? Would it be sight, sound, smell, touch, or taste? Which would you consider most precious?

Now, I love to eat, and part of that is due to the amazing taste of food. But if food lost its taste, I might finally get to a healthy weight.

I have somewhat of a super-sniffer. I can smell things (especially stinky things) long before my husband anyway. 🙂 That might not be so bad to not smell the icky stuff.

Touch is important, but it’s not my love language or anything.

I do love music, so hearing is very important. But, I figure that I’ve learned so many songs over the years that if I lost my hearing, I could still replay those songs in my head and probably get by.

But I haven’t found a way to reconcile losing my sight. From viewing the sunrise over the ocean to watching a drop of rain run down a leaf, there is so much beauty in the world that God created. I can recall those events, but not with the same complexity, not in full-color detail. To never see a loved one’s face again or watch water ripple down a stream or gaze at the changing shapes of clouds and colors in the sky or see the joy in a child’s smile…this would be very hard indeed.

raindrops on leaves

Recently, I’ve discovered that my eyesight isn’t what it used to be. Details have blurred and don’t stand out sharply. I have to pull things a little closer to see them clearly. It grieves me; but, other than a stronger prescription for my glasses, there’s not much I can do about it.

And so, I have to readjust my vision. Not just in paying a little more careful attention to what’s around me, but focusing on more eternal things. It’s time to recognize that the beauty in this world doesn’t compare with what’s to come or the One who made it all. Instead of keeping my eyes on the things around me, as lovely as they may be, I’m going to aim for keeping my eyes on God.

That’s today’s everyday adventure.

 

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other subscribers
  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved