Fixing our eyes on Jesus

Yesterday’s post brought to mind Hebrews 12:1-2:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

The NIV translates the phrase “looking to Jesus” as “fixing our eyes on Jesus.”

Much like a dancer chooses a fixed point to anchor to while doing spins, we need our eyes fixed on Jesus to keep our focus. And that leads me to this song that we often sing in church.

When my heart is weary
When my soul is weak
When it seems I can’t traverse the trail before me
I survey the glory
Of your agony
And I find the will to fight for what’s before me
‘Cause you ran the race enduring for your glory

 

This part of the series, everyday adventures. <— Click to read all the posts in the series so far.

everyday adventures

 

Leave a comment

Leave a comment

  • Hi, I'm Janice. I'm part bookworm and part creative. I love both science and music (and the science of music). I'm stumbling around trying to grow closer to God. Click the photo to read more about me.

  • I’m so glad you’re here!

    Thanks for taking time to read my posts in the midst of all the great blogs out in the blogosphere! If you like what you read, please follow me, or sign up to get my posts in your inbox. I'd love to hear from you, so please leave a comment!
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 754 other subscribers
  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Check these out:

    31Days_Rest_thumb
  • Copyright 2014 Claygirlsings | all rights reserved